Artemis Review

RATING: 5/5 stars
GENRE: science fiction 
AUTHOR: Andy Weir
I received this ARC from the publisher Del Rey/Ebury Publishing in exchange for an honest review. This in NO WAY effects my opinion. Thank you to the publishers and author.
So, where to begin with this book? My gosh! I almost died when I saw that Andy Weir was releasing a new book! He’s one of my favourites and so I obviously needed to read it right away. I was actually expecting a kind of sequel or prequel to The Martian but this is a completely separate standalone and that’s awesome too! Again, Weir wields the power of making feisty and fabulous female characters and leading the science fiction genre into representing them well. 

Jazz is a regular Ripley in my opinion. I haven’t seen a more feisty, independent and strong female character than Ripley from the Alien books by Alan Dean Foster, until now. Not only is Jazz an amazing character she is equally as wonderful as Ripley and represents WOC(women of colour). Go Weir! Please can you write more books about amazing and diverse women in space ?
The whole plot line of Artemis is flawless. It is such a unique idea and I loved how action packed and exhilarating it is. You are literally on the edge of your seat the whole time. I could not put the book down! I squeezed a page in wherever I could. I really loved the setting of the book too. Artemis is a city on the moon! This is something science has been looking at for a while and really can be easily imagined as something to happen in the future! And the near(ish) future as well! It’s all just very exciting to read about. The clash over of sci-fi into a bit of a crime novel is a really good twist as well. It’s not often you’d seen such a random crossover of genres but it really works! What’s more exciting than a multimillion pound/dollar heist?! Well, a multimillion pound/dollar heist on the moon for sure! 
I obviously adored this book. I will read it time and again for certain and I highly recommend it to everyone. It has ticked all the boxes for me and I’m still not over the excitement. Keep your eyes peeled for the release on November 14th. 

3 thoughts on “Artemis Review

Leave a Reply

