The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet Review

RATING: 5/5 stars
GENRE: Science fiction 
AUTHOR: Becky Chambers 
This book had been on my TBR for literally months and months before I’ve finally gotten around to reading it and my first thought is WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG!?! This book is literally one of the most exciting, beautiful and diverse I’ve read in a very long time and has instantly become of the best books I’ve read ever. Becky Chambers might just be infiltrating my favourite author list. 

This book literally has so much to offer. There is perfect and beautiful rep for non-binary persons, LGBT relationships, persons of different ethnicities/shape/size… it’s just… damn, it’s perfect. I am still in awe. Everyone needs to read this. 

The story itself is really cute though nothing all that much really happens until the end. The story really just follows the lives of the people living on the Wayfarer and I think that makes it even more amazing. It’s something not often seen in sci-fi, as the focus is usually on the adventures in space or on another planet or an intergalactic war or whatever. It’s really refreshing and enjoyable.

The characters are all to die for! Rosemary appears to be the MC though all the Wayfarer crew seems to me to be equally important. They are made up of a mix of cultures and species. They are all wonderfully developed characters with back stories that are just so endearing. 
I really recommend this book to everyone. Chambers is such a genius. I just know I’m going to love every book she writes in the future and I hope to see many more books about these fabulous characters. 

Leave a Reply

